Women riding, women racing

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I can continue to encourage women to get into riding and racing. I remember just a few short years ago, I was afraid to clip in and out of my pedals and ride with traffic on the roads around here in the triangle. Then, I joined my first women’s bike ride, lead by my friend Randi Foraker. That experience changed my life. It made me discover my love for cycling. It helped me figure out my life and what I want out of it. Just me and my bike–I feel like I can conquer anything. There’s nothing better than being outside with you, your bike, and a few friends to put things into perspective. It’s the best time you can spend with yourself and others. I found my passion in life and I want to share that passion with other women. You don’t have to be the fastest or strongest on the bike, you just need to get out there and do it!

The pic below was a gift from my husband last Christmas. It depicts Rosie the Riveter carrying her cross bike. I LOVE this shirt, not just because it is a reminder that I tackled another fear of mine–cross racing, which by the way is TONS of fun–instead, it reminds me that literally you can do just about anything if you put your mind to it. I have had to shut my mind off a lot when racing. I’m definitely not the fastest and you probably won’t see me win races anytime soon (if ever), but I feel like by just lining up to race than I’ve already won. It’s a perspective that I hope I can share with others, especially those women new to cycling.

Keep pedaling on!

Image

About Mandy Gallagher

USA Cycling Level 2 Coach, Training Peaks University Graduate, Certified Power Based Training
This entry was posted in cycling, racing!, Specialized, Specialized Women, training, women ride bikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

