The 2nd Annual 9th Street Derby

starting line

Wow! This was the biggest field (including the road and cyclocross races that I’ve done) that I’ve ever been in. It was a mix of Collegiate and Women’s Cat 4, but still, this is huge and a good sign of the growth of women’s cycling. I am hopeful that I will continue to see such large fields at races.

As you can see, this field is so big you can’t even see me in the photo. A quick side note, however, I also learned a valuable lesson–it’s better to have a great starting position than to take another warm up lap and end up in the back of the field!

I lined up and the race began. We had an incredible race. It was hard to tell who was where in the field, except for the three leaders. I was really proud of all of my fellow women cyclists out there taking the corners so well and pushing themselves to go just that much faster! It was so much fun!

 

 

cropped-cropped-mandy_bike1.jpg

About Mandy Gallagher

USA Cycling Level 2 Coach, Training Peaks University Graduate, Certified Power Based Training
This entry was posted in cycling, racing!, Specialized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

